Autres professionnels de santé

  • L’ergothérapeute contribue à améliorer la force et les capacités physiques pour les activités du quotidien
  • Le kinésithérapeute contribue à améliorer la mobilité et l’alignement des os et des articulations, et à soulager les douleurs
  • Le nutritionniste ou diététicien aide à contrôler le poids et à éviter l’obésité en établissant un programme nutritionnel

Éléments à prendre en compte en cas d'intervention chirurgicale

Il est important de faire appel à un chirurgien et à un anesthésiste qui soient compétents dans la prise en charge des personnes atteintes d’achondroplasie. En effet, des précautions particulières doivent être prises pour limiter le risque de complications associées à l’abord des voies respiratoires et aux autres différences anatomiques.

img

Autres besoins en dehors des soins médicaux

L’attention particulière qui doit être portée aux personnes achondroplases ne se limite pas aux soins médicaux spécialisés. D’autres aspects pratiques doivent être pris en compte, comme assurer la sécurité de votre bébé ou s’adapter à ses besoins physiques quand il sera en âge d’aller à l’école. Il peut être utile d’anticiper ces besoins et d’obtenir un soutien extérieur. Vous pouvez partager ces informations avec votre pédiatre, qui n’est peut-être pas aussi bien informé sur l’achondroplasie que les autres spécialistes qui suivent votre enfant.


Besoins spécifiques des nourissons

Une attention particulière s’impose pendant les premiers mois de vie de votre enfant. En effet, des complications potentiellement graves peuvent survenir durant cette première année. En suivant les conseils de votre médecin et quelques règles simples, vous contribuerez à protéger votre enfant. Il s’agit pour la plupart de règles de bon sens qui s’appliquent à tous les nourrissons :
  • Veillez à toujours soutenir la tête, le cou et toute la colonne vertébrale de votre enfant
  • Laissez votre enfant jouer à plat ventre aussi souvent que possible, tout en le surveillant
  • Choisissez une poussette avec un bon soutien dorsal
  • Utilisez un siège auto dos à la route autant que possible
  1. Ne laissez pas votre bébé en position assise sans le soutenir avant qu’il ne soit capable de tenir assis tout seul. Il acquerra cette aptitude avec le temps
  2. Soyez vigilant(e) lors de l’achat d’une balancelle automatique. Choisissez une balancelle à coque dure et gardez-la inclinée à 45 degrés
Demandez conseil au spécialiste de la dysplasie squelettique qui suit votre enfant : il pourra vous indiquer les types de balancelles, de sièges auto et autres dispositifs de soutien qui conviennent le mieux aux bébés atteints d’achondroplasie. Votre médecin pourra vous donner des conseils médicaux pour vous aider à protéger votre enfant au mieux ; n’hésitez pas à lui parler.


Adaptations

L’acquisition d’indépendance est un signe évident que votre enfant grandit. En grandissant, les enfants cherchent à faire plus de choses par eux-mêmes, que ce soit à la maison, à l’école ou à l’extérieur. Quelques petites adaptations dans l’environnement de votre enfant l’aideront à devenir indépendant et autonome. L’anticipation est essentielle. Contactez l’école de votre enfant pour discuter des adaptations élémentaires qui pourront l’aider.
  • Utiliser des marchepieds, installer les poignées de porte et interrupteurs plus bas, et adapter la hauteur des appareils de cuisine : voici quelques exemples des petites adaptations du quotidien qui peuvent faciliter la vie des enfants et des adultes achondroplases.
  • L’hygiène personnelle… doit rester personnelle. Il se peut toutefois que votre enfant ait besoin de l’aide d’un tiers ou de dispositifs d’adaptation (par exemple, brosse de toilettes lors de l’apprentissage de la propreté).
  • À l’école, un stylo lesté et une attelle de poignet pourront aider votre enfant lors de la prise de notes et des devoirs écrits. Le fait d’adapter la hauteur de son portemanteau et de son casier pourra également lui permettre d’être plus indépendant.
  • À l’école comme à la maison, vous pouvez améliorer le confort de votre enfant en utilisant des chaises adaptées qui offrent un meilleur soutien dorsal et des tabourets avec repose-pied qui fourniront à votre enfant un appui pour ses pieds.
  • Lorsque votre enfant apprendra à conduire, utilisez des rehausses de pédales pour améliorer l’accès aux pédales et, ainsi, la sécurité de la conduite ; un siège d’appoint (« rehausseur ») lui permettra d’avoir une meilleure visibilité.


Soutien psychologique et social

L’adolescence n’est pas une période facile. Pression exercée par les pairs et sentiment d’insécurité sont le lot de tous les adolescents. Ces années peuvent être particulièrement difficiles pour les personnes atteintes d’achondroplasie qui peuvent se sentir différentes, mises à l’écart et brimées. Malheureusement, les difficultés sociales conduisent parfois à un état dépressif ou anxieux chez les adolescents achondroplases.

Ces difficultés peuvent persister à l’âge adulte. Il est essentiel de se tourner vers des professionnels de la santé mentale, des conseillers scolaires, des groupes de soutien ou autre pour obtenir une aide psychosociale.

Les groupes de soutien peuvent par ailleurs aider les familles à se rencontrer.

You can also find a skeletal dysplasia expert—someone with expertise in achondroplasia and other forms of dwarfism or growth disorders. If you don’t have access to a skeletal dysplasia clinic, here are a few questions to consider asking healthcare providers to help you decide if they have the expertise you are looking for:

one

How many children with achondroplasia or other skeletal dysplasias have you treated?

two

Have you been involved in any research on achondroplasia?

What other types of doctors should my child be seeing?

How will you coordinate care with the rest of my child’s healthcare team?

Other Health Professionals

  • Occupational therapist helps to improve physical strength and function for activities of daily living
  • Physical therapist helps increase mobility, align bones and joints, or lessen pain
  • Nutritionist or dietitian helps manage weight and avoid obesity through nutritional planning

Special Considerations When Having Surgery

It is important to work with a surgeon and anesthesiologist who have experience treating people with achondroplasia. This is because of the special considerations needed to reduce the risks of complications associated with airway management and other anatomical differences.

img

Consider Needs Other Than Medical Care

Expert medical care is just one part of caring for a child with achondroplasia. There are also practical considerations, from keeping your infant safe to accommodating the physical needs of your school-age child. Taking proactive steps and turning to others for support can help. You can share this information with your child’s pediatrician, who may be less familiar with achondroplasia than the specialists your child sees.



Special Needs of Infants

The early months of your baby’s life require extra attention. This is because of potentially serious complications that can happen in that first year.You can help protect your infant by following your doctor’s advice and some basic guidelines. Many of these are common-sense tips for the safety of all babies:

  • Be sure to always support your baby’s head, neck, and full spine.
  • Give your baby lots of supervised tummy time.
  • When shopping for a stroller, choose one with a solid back.
  • Keep your child in a rear-facing car seat as long as possible.
  1. Don’t let your baby sit unsupported until they can do so on their own. That independence will come in time.
  2. Be careful about the type of automatic swing you choose. Select one with a hard surface and keep it inclined at a 45-degree angle.

Ask your skeletal dysplasia specialist for recommendations for the best types of swings, car seats, and other supportive devices for infants with achondroplasia. Be sure to talk to your doctor for medical advice on how to best protect your infant.



Adaptations

A hallmark of growing up is independence. As children get older, they want to do more on their own—at home, in school, and out in the world. Some simple adaptations to your child’s environment can help them achieve independence and do things for themselves. It’s important to be proactive and reach out to your child’s school about basic adaptations that can help.

  • Step stools, lower door levels and light switches, and lower appropriate kitchen appliances are just a few examples of everyday basic accommodations that can make life easier for children and adults with achondroplasia.
  • Personal hygiene is just that—personal. But your child may need help with hygiene, either from another person or by using adaptive tools, such as a toilet wand, which can be introduced when potty training.
  • In school, adaptations like weighted pens and wrist braces can help your child keep up with note-taking and written assignments. Lower hooks and cubbies can also help your child be independent.
  • Modified chairs provide better back support, and foot stools keep your child’s feet from dangling for more comfort in school and at home.
  • When your teenager starts to drive, pedal extenders can help them reach the pedals so they can drive safely, and seat boosters can help them see above the dashboard.


Psychological & Social Support

The adolescent years are tough. From peer pressure to insecurities, teenagers go through a lot. These years can create unique challenges for a teenager with achondroplasia, who may feel different, left out, or bullied. Sadly, social challenges cause some teens with achondroplasia to experience depression or anxiety.

These challenges can carry into adulthood. It’s important to connect with resources that can offer psychological and social support, such as mental health professionals, school counselors, and advocacy groups.

Local chapters of advocacy groups also offer support groups so families can connect with one another.



Community

Helpful information and resources for living with achondroplasia can be found through these associations:

Little People of America

Little People of America (LPA) is dedicated to improving the quality of life for people with dwarfism throughout their lives while celebrating with great pride little people’s contribution to social diversity. LPA strives to bring solutions and global awareness to the prominent issues affecting individuals of short stature and their families.

lpaonline.org/about-lpa

617 Broadway #15
Sonoma, CA 95476

The MAGIC Foundation

The MAGIC Foundation is a charitable nonprofit organization created to provide support services for the families of children afflicted with a wide variety of chronic and/or critical disorders, syndromes, and diseases that affect a child’s growth. Motto: Children have a short time to grow and a lifetime to live with the results! Together we are MAGIC!

magicfoundation.org

Email: contactus@magicfoundation.org

4200 Cantera Dr. #106
Warrenville, IL 60555

Phone: (800) 362-4423

Phone: (630) 836-8200

Fax: (630) 836-8181

Growing Stronger

Growing Stronger’s mission is to improve the quality of medical care for little people through supporting research.

growingstronger.org

Phone: (408) 475-1787

The Chandler Project

Dedicated to the most common form of dwarfism—achondroplasia—and other congenital abnormalities, the Chandler Project is a place for advocacy and community, and a resource for research and development education for patients and parents of children with achondroplasia.

thechandlerproject.org

Email: chandler@thechandlerproject.org

PO Box 7549
Little Rock, AR 72207

Phone: (501) 240-9863

Fax: (501) 223-2960

Human Growth Foundation

Human Growth Foundation serves as a global leader in endocrine research, education, patient advocacy, and support.

Email: hgf1@hgfound.org

99 Glen Cove Ave, Suite 5
Glen Head, NY 11545

Phone: (800) 451-6434

Fax: (516) 671-4055